Phobos Engineering cont…

phobos_engine_room_01

Phobos engineering experiments continue anew on my new Mac and latest edition of Lightwave.  A more powerful computer and the better features of a much improved Lightwave are allowing  me to try things that would have taken half a day or more to complete; done in all of 30 to 40 mintues.  I feel more free to experiment with the more memory intensive settings and I don’t have to wait 12 hours to see if it was worth it! 😀  I can do low antialias renderings in 5 minutes or less to get a good idea of whether or not to attack a much higher resolution image.

So I decided I would try renderosity in the Phobos engine room since it had a great deal of self illuminated surfaces.  I’ve only faked it until now.   What is interesting is how much darker this looks on my PC monitor than the monitor hooked to my Mac.  It is about halfway between those two on my work monitor, so I’m not sure how dark this looks to others right now.

I haven’t transfered all of my Lightwave files over from the PC yet and I am thinking this particular version of the model is one of the less complete versions, so I also have a lot of organizing to do when I pull everything over.

~ by starstation on March 13, 2009.

2 Responses to “Phobos Engineering cont…”

  1. Just wanted to say this has been a very cool tour of ‘motion picture’ era sets…

    Do keep up the brilliant work!

    • Many thanks! I’ve always loved the design aspects of the TMP era and it has been a great hobby for me for many years. New tools like faster computers and better software help energize it every so often.

Leave a Reply

 
