Cargo Corridor

Cargo_Corridor_11st Render

Cargo_Corridor_3New Render

Preliminary test render of the cargo corridor as part of the “Cargo Ring.”  It is meant to offer direct access to ship’s supplies and help keep them stable and secured.

Update: Fixed some bad textures.  Improvements on the shine and reflectivity (a bit of a cheat, so not perfect) but I changed the specularity setting to some hindrance (too low), darkening the corridor overall.  Still took a good while to render.

This took an extra long time to render.  Given that amount of time I am not too happy with the results so far, but some things look promising.  I tried to use reflectivity to a great extent  here, but it did not turn out as I expected.  Bad reflection-blurring settings  probably ramped up the render times and ended up dulling things too much to make it useful, so I will have to re-evaluate that.  I will also have to change some other settings if I want these shots to render as bright as I want them, and anywhere near fast enough to be of any use.  That means I’ll have to run all test renders with reflective raytracing turned off as I continue to refine things.

I am not sure I am happy with this configuration yet.  Does it even deserve corridor status or is it just a small specialized (glorified) cargo bay?  There are very few compartment access points along the route due to the placement of the escape pods, but there is the main gangway and the sections at the aft of the ship.

This would be the beginning of the corridor near the fore of the ship.  From the render POV, just to your right is an access door that leads to the narrow cargo conveyor and the cargo staging bay (the map shows a cargo pod in the way but has since been removed).  Directly to your left is a short radial corridor.  Looking ahead, not too far around that corner,  is another radial corridor that heads deeper into the ships central core.   Further ahead still is the ship’s main gangway.

blk05d

How to access the cargo is my next tackle.  Mulling over some scenarios now.

~ by starstation on June 17, 2009.

6 Responses to “Cargo Corridor”

  1. That’s really good work on the corridors. I’ve been working on some TMP era starship interiors but I’m nowhere near as accomplished as you are on the realism. Question: Have you attempted to string a concentric corridor out yet? I run into issues of the walls not coming out properly due to the ‘wedge’ shape since the segments are rectangular and getting the wedges to properly follow the arc of the corridor usually requires resizing the wedge for each outer ring.

    Later,
    Joe

    • Thanks Joe. Not exactly sure what you mean by “string a concentric corridor out yet.” While I constructed the actual mesh segment some time ago, this is actually my first section of concentric corridor sections laid out in curvature. It is pretty much strung out as I just set one up along a zero axis and rotated it around a central point some distance away and copy, copy, copied. But since this was a slightly unique layout, with the cargo pods breaking up the chain so to speak, I was able to cheat a little and place the lighted sections’ frames perfectly parallel to one another. The sections as a whole are perfectly centered on radial lines coming from the core rather than the frame members themselves. I may not be able to employ this technique for standard corridors. Like I said, this is the first curved layout I’ve attempted. I figure I too will have to adjust the wedges for their relation to the central core. One reason it is good to keep your frames and your other corridor components in separate layers. 😀

  2. Yea, I meant string the components together into one long concentric corridor. When I have tried stringing the chain together to make a concentric corridor, I end up with alignment issues. I was wondering if you had any experience on how to get the proper alignment between the parts.

    Later,
    Joe

    • Hey Joe. No, not much experience here until this. But yeah, I tried stringing a few corridor components together this weekend for fun. No specific ship mind you, but they were in rings, each at a different radius from a central point. There were indeed some alignment issues when I went to set them up and began rotating them but I think I got them worked out. I think the secret is to insure that the frame elements are in a separate layer from all other corridor elements and to tweak the positions of your corridor elements to fit the frames, which are of course the foundation for where you place everything. Proper alignment relies on perfect centering of all the elements from the get go and identical and/or half rotational increments for the separate layers. The further out into the saucer the corridor is, the fewer degrees of rotation the elements require for similarly sized sections. I found that once I had everything positioned and trimmed in a rings first section, it was as easy as copy and pasting the remaining sections and following very set degrees of rotation. If I knew how you were approaching it I might be better able to offer some advice.

      Later,
      Basill

  3. Loving everything you’re doing. Midas touch, seriously.

    Couple of thoughts on this corridor. It’d be cool to break up the floor into distinct panels (instead of one huge sheet of diamond).

    Also, you could put numbers or labels on all the K frames indicating what cargo module was there. Be cool to see a rail system above, in case lifting were ever required.

    • Thanks. Great thoughts there. If you look at some of the later postings you’ll notice I’ve already started putting things down in panels, at least for the walkway section. I haven’t decided if I want to make individual panels out of the whole flooring yet though. however, it might make the modularity of the individual sections more easy to deal with.

      I will be labeling more of the corridor as I get into the details but I’ve finally put individual labels on the cargo pods themselves. I’ll probably label the individual sections the way they were done in TWOK, though I like the idea of section labels on the K frames. As for a rail system and lifting the pods, most of that will happen behind the scenes on the other side of that wall from where the pods face out. According to the technical schematics, there is a “momentum buffer” system that lines the entire outer rim of the ship (which this entire interior section of the ship butts up against). This is obviously to counteract the effects of inertia on a fast moving vessel, but anything that is capable of that should be able to counteract the effects of gravity. So, I decided that the “momentum buffer” system could pull double duty during loading maneuvers and that there might be just enough space where the pods could run “rail” like, before being slipped into their individual slots. The pods are accessed from this corridor which, during normal flight operations, will have all the comforts of life support and a bit more room for the crew to maneuver.

      Thanks so much for the input, and I’ll be looking into that labeling scheme and maybe even the floor panel method.

      Basill

Leave a Reply

 
