Enterprise Hanger Bay update

Been a while, but I’m back while time permits. 😀

Early work in progress

I’m helping a friend with a project that involves the TMP version of the Enterprise’s hanger bay so I’ve gone back to work on my old structure.  Previously, I worked very hard on the cargo bay, especially since that was the area best seen in the film and provided the best references.  Still, there were some blatant errors on my part, even outside of the few liberties I took trying to get the internal structure to actually fit into the exterior design of the ship.  No easy task, since there is very little wiggle room on this ship’s design.  Lining up interior features with their implied counterparts on the outside surface of the hull comes with a few conflicts that must be rectified or simply ignored.  Since I was trying to make as close a rendition to Andrew Probert’s beautiful matte painting, I chose “ignore for now.”

It was a limited perspective set when I initially built it.  That is, I could aim my camera toward the aft of the ship and perhaps fool the masses with my renders, but should I turn my camera around, the dark emptiness of nothing-space would reveal itself.  I also went easy on the hanger details since they seemed so distant.  It was more of a back drop at the time.

Now that someone wants me to focus on the actual landing/take-off area, I thought I would begin to refine some of the elements that were there and add some missing details that would easily betray the set as a mere stand-in.

I have also finally added my take on the never before seen (on film) front wall of the cargo bay.  Other modelers, both physical scale and 3D CGI artists have done exemplary versions of this wall, but I figured one more interpretation wouldn’t hurt.

More than anything I always wanted to make sure the studio set that was built for this section of the ship did not go to waste.  The on-set cargo wall built for the film was actually constructed two “stories” tall, while the matte painting that filled in for the rest of the bay cut it in half by obscuring the top portion.  While the reasoning behind this was perfectly sound and resulted in an amazing effects shot, I always hated that such a large section of the set design was rendered moot.  I always thought that studio set would make a good stand-in for the forward wall as well.  I’m not the only one of course, as several published deck plans and other CGI artists have incorporated the multi-leveled wall into their interpretations as well.

Viewed from just inside the hanger doors (a bit dark)

Redo of the 1st shot after adding some details and

changing the shape of the hanger walls.

Still a lot to get done, and lighting is proving to be  a challenge as well.  More soon.

~ by starstation on January 12, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
