Beating a Dead Drydock?

What is that old idiom about “beating a dead horse…” As if there is little more to be gained by returning to an exhausted subject?  Well, some may see the return to an already visited theme as futile and a creative dead end (I prefer the term “cul-de-sac” myself 😉 )  As much as I love the “frontier” aspect of Star Trek and the concept of new and bold discoveries, as I’ve gotten older (and more boring), my mind tends to gravitate more towards the support level of Starfleet operations.  I admit I am fascinated in general with the functionality of “well-oiled machines” like governments and corporations, even though I have disdain for the more steam roller mentality of most.  I think it all stems from my desire to see things from right in the thick of it all and then to step back to a sizable distance to gain a new perspective.

Well, regardless of my philosophical bearings, I do like seeing things from as many points of view as possible.  (My partner hates it when we go on vacations and I have the camera.)  So these images should not be seen as the flogging of deceased equine, but rather me taking (yet another) snap shot of my favorite virtual vacation spot.

It doesn’t hurt that I’ve begun working on another minor detail in the McCook’s structure.  I finally started constructing the elevator lift that rises to the ship’s upper surface.  I figured, what better time to see this feature in action than in space dock?  Currently it is just a  recessed area with a sign and glow paneled lighting in the corners, but the hatches are open and visible from the ship’s exterior.  The new images feature this detail and I redid some older images to accommodate the addition.  There is even a workbee parked next to the forward starboard hatch (coffee break) in the top image.  I’ll be working on the lift’s interior structure a little more this week.  Thankfully I’ve already modeled the lift as seen from the ship’s interior so I will have that to pluck from.

Note: I also updated those cargo bay door panels (hazard markings) to match the interior model I’ve partially constructed.  I didn’t realize until I began the lift work that the cargo bay panels hadn’t been brought up to speed.

~ by starstation on May 11, 2010.

2 Responses to “Beating a Dead Drydock?”

  1. It’s only when one gets closer to the forest that one notices the bark on the trees. 🙂

    I’ve just been reading about the charm of George Lucas’ original trilogy: principally, there are/were 3 areas that contributed to this stand-out success story. First, the harmonious ensemble of characters in a genre typically populated by instantly-forgettable B-grade stock. Second, John Williams classical score in an era of disco, using Wagnerian motifs in a Tschaikovsky (Peter & The Wolf) style. Thirdly (and most relevant here) was the striking visual style of ILM’s effects and the employment of the “Used Future” texturing technique in all droids, props, ships and costumes.

    Used Future signifies advanced technology which is treated as commonplace and looks it: imperfections are everywhere! Dirty, smoky, scratched and scuffed droids; a superweapon casually tossed onto a chair, dusty clothes and mussed hair.

    Half of the problem with many Sci-Fi movies of any era is that everything looks like every inch of the set has been recently unpacked from the bubble wrap and everything probably stills smells like a fresh coat of paint. And not a hair out of place on the head of our valiant hero, even after a torrid scuffle.

    Much of today’s CGI suffers from the same problem – too pristine.

    In the re-worked Star Wars Ep IV, Jabba had to be redone 6 years ago, because the original CG slug looked very little like the ROTJ gangster we’ve come to know and hate! 😀

    Your attention to detail is gradually going to add up to digital works of art that will have a verisimillitude lacking in many movies.

    The process is fun to watch, too! 😀

Leave a Reply

 
