Honest Abbe Returns

I decided to take another hit at the Abbe class.  I’ve been rather sick the past two weeks, so I haven’t accomplished much.  I basically added a few details and started on a significant structure I had been putting off for some time.

Sensors and Phasers in place


I added some phaser mounts and a lower sensor dome.  I will complete one that is more like the Enterprise and her ilk, but I rather like the way the Abbe’s sensor mount has been portrayed in various versions.  It’s simple, yet it has enough of the movie era design elements to qualify as a useful variation.   And although I will build it, I haven’t yet committed to the under mount navigational deflector.  That will be a project in itself.  Of course, the engine nacelles still need work as well.

The bridge… “mound”?

I finally took a crack at the structure atop the saucer section however, and I am pretty pleased with the results.  I don’t know what they actually call it.  The bridge mound?

Phasers under construction, but the grid is just too wide.

The forward portion was easy enough.  Here are some uncompleted phaser mounts and I have determined that the deflector grid lines are a little too wide.

Getting that curved aft section with the lounge windows was the hard part.

I studied a number of different versions from various artists, but I couldn’t quite figure out how the others managed the aft section, so I had to wing it.  I did 3 different versions before I settled on this one.

I’m pretty happy with the results so far.  Just need some more windows now.

I’m also pleased that I will be able to use this structure on other craft.  Though this version won’t work on the Miranda class, it will transfer over well enough to the Northampton.

Next up, with the deflector grid lines being too wide, I’ve decided I will be totally revamping the saucer shortly.  I will then be able to get the grid lines on both the upper and lower saucer.  I can then detail it accordingly.  Then onto the bridge module.

~ by starstation on January 18, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
