Missing Interiors Replaced

Replaced those missing interiors and even tried to chop them up a little to give them more detail before rendering. Those huge view ports betray the interiors’ simplicity however, because of their size and even their angularity on the top two rows.  I even think the frames look rather fragile now at that scale.  I’ll have to figure something out about that.   I might need to put more space between the view ports (especially on the two top rows) or maybe take out the central window in each “string” so they don’t look so widely vulnerable.  Either way, I’ll probably add some structural facade behind them to make them look less delicate.  Heck, they almost looked better blank.

I also took the time to add the docking ring detailing to the eight airlocks in the central section and those two lower ones flanking it on either side in the shadows.  Copy and pasting wasn’t as overwhelming as I’d anticipated, but I totally forgot about the joy of point welding everything back into place.  I was hoping for better results, but those details are just barely noticeable at such distance from the camera.

Anyhow, the newer transparent portholes went with the detailing, so you can see now which windows are clear with interiors behind them, though they are considerably dimmer and somewhat dull.  I suppose that is natural however, and I should actually start going through at random and darkening out a few windows to indicate nothing lit behind them, or I could even fake some drawn drapes or blinds.  I’ve toyed with the idea that they could be darkened and blocked with some sort of polarizing effect comparable to LCD technology, as an alternative to standard window coverings.  Troi used something similar in TNG’s “The Child.”  I’ve even considered the possibility of leaving some of the view ports a solid glow, but at different intensities of luminosity, to indicate some sort of “electro-frosted” effect as another alternative to blinds which might be more common in future constructs.  This “electric control glass” technology is available now it seems, but is not exactly wide spread and certainly not cheap.  I worry though that it will only make the overall effect appear less realistic, since it is still something of a novelty.  Regardless, the more windows that are dark or plain light, the fewer interiors I will eventually have to fabricate.  The windows and interiors in that arch are going to be quite an uphill hike, and with a chore like that, every little bit helps.

Next, I think I’ll concentrate on aspects of the shuttle bays and especially on putting some sort of blue force field light around either the interior or exterior frames of those bay doors.  It’s just a harsh vacuum at present.

~ by starstation on March 29, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
