Lower Concourse, South

Docking Port A5

Was going to start on the shuttle bay deck, but didn’t have a lot of time, so I decided I needed a little more detail in the far end of the pier, at least in the lower concourse.  it actually helped in the shuttle bay. I’ve started with some angular shaped frames similar to the ones further back in the detailed area, and I’ve placed a few temporary turboshaft/escalator set ups.  The frames are to represent structural trusses, just a few meters within the external hull.  They are parallel along its entire length with extensions to reinforce it at various points along the deck levels.   Now that I have the frame members coming down into the shuttle bay, I have something to work around to start filling in detail there near the door.  Now I need to open up that row of observation view ports along the top.  Since the frames extend up into there they will help with detailing that interior space as well.

I’m not entirely sure what all these large view port areas are exactly (other than the identifiable concourses themselves).  Most are probably large open lounges, but there is such a thing as overkill.   I’ve surmised that some might actually be control rooms for command crew and docking personnel.

Here is that same angle without any additions to the far end.

And here’s just another that I had rendered and waiting when I got home yesterday afternoon.  It’s a slightly higher angle of the immediately previous image group.  The upper concourse remains a barren landscape.

~ by starstation on March 30, 2011.

One Response to “Lower Concourse, South”

  1. Going to check in more often – got to get a tmp era fix or… something. Nice work Basill!

Leave a Reply

 
