Moorings

Just call me a greeble farmer.

I’ve mostly finished the greebles on the gangway design. Anything I add from here on out will be purely obsessive-compulsive. ๐Ÿ˜‰ For the top of the main housing I broke down and used some greebles I cranked out for my orbital office complex.

Since it was a round inset feature, the greebles fit perfectly with a little nudging. I also duplicated the fully detailed version with the swing arm rotated 90 degrees for starship access to the docking ring gangway. Alas due to memory issues I can probably only incorporate one copy each of these two versions. All the other docks sprinkled around the station will have to be the minimally detailed versions. Since this “South Pier A” is the only one that will have any significant detail, that is all well and good.

I also had fun fashioning some larger structures related to the tractor/mooring beam systems. I have the fun hobby of collecting common little doo-hickies that look like they serve entirely different purposes than their intended design (don’t fret- I’m not a hoarder ๐Ÿ˜‰ ) I’ve wanted to use these two objects for sometime now. One is just a flappy little plug for a spray bottle of household cleanser. The other is an adhesive cable tie mount! A genuine method of mooring. ๐Ÿ˜€ I thought they both had remarkably complex structures for such simple items. They looked like they were perfect for the task of beam emitters for tractoring and mooring vessels.

Here they are mounted to the inner structures. The cable mounts looked powerful and I figured they would serve well on that largely empty central space. I made the other version smaller and planted a couple on the pier wall as supplemental emitters. I haven’t mirrored them yet. Another feature I started to bang out was some shuttle bay detailing, especially the door frames and their environmental force field generators.

Another angle.

~ by starstation on April 4, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
