Cargo Run Commencing

Shuttles and Bees Deliver… Scale?

A busy day begins

Made some refinements to the deck markings and added a few to the first cargo section.  I opened one of the maintenance bays, and I added some shuttlecraft, workbees, and cargo containers for a better sense of scale.

Still, It is tad difficult to grasp the exact position of some of the objects floating high above the deck.  I might need to clone a single bee and park it on the deck to help with this.  The bee and cargo sled near the center is actually passing through the exterior door’s atmospheric force field.  It might be neat to do some post render effect with the shield interacting with the hull of the cargo pods. 😀

I think the workbees are pretty well scaled but either way, they are stuck at this size for now.  I had some difficulties altering their size in layout since I had to shrink them down rather extensively to fit this object.  Once I shrank them, I couldn’t refine their scale any better than this; Even when I used the numerical inputs, they either shrank uncontrollably tiny or they swelled up in size by default.  I was able to refine the shuttle scale a little more effectively.  The shuttles I added were created for my Starbase 11/Colony renders a few years back, but I never completed it.

The shuttle was modeled for this The Starbase 11/Colony Render but never saw full realization

  Here in the bottom image the shuttles are a bit larger, but I think this scale is too big.

Shuttles are a tad too big here

The next step is to detail more decking and add the cargo walls, which I will attempt with some new low poly versions rather than the more detailed versions I’ve modeled for the various ship bays I’ve worked on.

~ by starstation on April 17, 2011.

4 Responses to “Cargo Run Commencing”

  1. That is looking damn good.

  2. Doing nice work here Basill. Btw, do you ever plan to finish Starbase 11/colony? It looks great already! And… I didn’t even know you were working on it.:(

    • Doing nice work here Basill. Btw, do you ever plan to finish Starbase 11/colony? It looks great already! And… I didn’t even know you were working on it.:(

      Thanks. As for the Starbase 11, I started that some years ago, probably 5 or more. It was a continuation of stuff I began over 12 years ago, so you can see how often I depart and return to things when they get “nostalgic.” 😉 I haven’t messed much with this model since my original renderings, but I’m sure I’ll play with it again someday. It’s not my strong suit, and I might even start all over knowing a lot of what I’ve learned since then.

Leave a Reply

 
