Subspace Communications Net

Good coverage and nice long distance… but you got rollover minutes with that?

Subspace Com Net- 2nd 2011 version

Here are some new attempts at the Subspace Com Net graphic, first seen as one of Michael Okuda’s “okudagrams”  in Star Trek IV: The Voyage Home.  This version above is stylized to fit slightly more in line with the Star Trek VI: The Undiscovered Country time period.  However, I’m not actually sure if it ever showed up onscreen after its premiere moment. The blue hues making up the web complex might be a tad too deep here, so I’ll continue tinkering with these graphics for a bit.  These are pretty low resolution uploads until I get closer to completion.

Original attempt from 2008

For my original attempt a few years back I know I used my Mr. Scott’s Guide To The Enterprise as a reference, though I may have used some small downloaded graphic as a template as well.  I can’t find any such template currently, and I simply can’t recall that far back to be sure.  I think I’ve noticed that the background grid is about 1 square too wide (one reason I wonder if I didn’t use a template), but it doesn’t complicate things too much.  This time I did use my previous attempt as a template, enlarging the image itself and then completely redoing the graphic elements over again.  Despite the apparent complexity of the image, it’s actually a fairly simple process with very primitive shapes and lines coming together to give that perfect sense of “busy.”  I never got around to adding any text or number layers in my first attempt, so I was pleased to get that done in this new project.

2011 version- More in line with the actual set graphic from The Voyage Home

Might be a bit too green here, but I thought I would try a version that was more in line with the bright new bridge of the Enterprise-A as seen in the conclusion of Star Trek IV: The Voyage Home.  I hear this was some of Michael Okuda’s earliest Trek artistry and it was an imaginative leap that would permanently change the style of Trek as well as foretell true advances in real life technology.  It’s hard to tell from screen shots exactly what color palette was used in that first appearance of okudagrams (apparently various greens, blues and white), but it certainly seemed to boast less a variety of hues than later versions, as Okuda’s work continued to  flourish in movie sequels and spin-off series.

~ by starstation on October 3, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
