Commuter Life

Or…  What a way to head to work

I started on the San Francisco air tram a short while ago.  Seen only briefly in Star Trek: The Motion Picture in the Starfleet Headquarters scene, I’ve always loved its smooth sleek appearance.

It’s totally incomplete of course, but I was impressed by how much I was able to get done in such a short time, so thought I would put it up on the blog.  I’m not exactly sure why I even started it, since I don’t have any real plans for a scene with it.   I was actually aiming toward creating a new shuttle craft for Star Station India (for landing on the upper pier surfaces at the shuttle pad/elevator sites as I’ve always intended)  But while I was researching various designs, the air tram just stood out for me.  The front appeared very simple, while the aft seemed rather complex, so I just had to try it out.  I was under the impression the air tram was an atmospheric craft, so it probably wouldn’t even come in to handy on the space station.  I have been looking at some of my old surface colony/starbase images though, and I might start tinkering with them in the not too distant future, so this could come in handy there.

I still need to finish/correct some hull details and add the doors, lights, and markings, but it’s getting there.  I also felt some artistic license since the filming miniature and the full-scale exterior mock-up are ever so slightly different, so I felt I could pick and choose some details I preferred.  I might even grace this one with an interior if everything goes well.

And Happy New Year! 😀

~ by starstation on January 1, 2012.

3 Responses to “Commuter Life”

  1. Very nice start.:)

    On a side note: I do hope you do some more “planetside” stuff later. I always liked your model/render of Starbase 11.

    • Thanks!

      Playing around with some SB 11 stuff right now as I experiment with some fresh skyscape backgrounds.
      We’ll just have to see how it works out. 😀

  2. Neat. Looking forward to that.:)

Leave a Reply

 
