The Nightlights…

Flicker On

I put up some street lights.  These are the same as I used in the Starbase 11 shot based directly on the matte painting used in TOS.I was planning on making something more updated and possibly more boxy, but these were ready to scale and available, so I thought I would try them out.  There are a number of ideas out there I am considering, but for now I have the SB 11 lamps and some lights set up with them to begin glowing the ground a little more.

I also put some exterior spotlights on that flattened facility near the wall (I think it was a mineral refinery in the New Worlds game)  and a light over maintenance door 2 on the mushroom hub’s base.   On the mushroom hub’s “stem”  I managed some new interior structures, so there is new glow in that area.  I’ll try and get some new interior stuff for the base and top soon.

I probably need to add some shuttles and auxiliary craft near the landing pad/hanger area.  That would be a nice spot to put some fairly intense spot lights and show off the neighborhood a little more.  With some minor atmosphere or fog it could really make that area interesting.  Unfortunately, my experiments with fog recently ended less than successful.  I’ll have to dig in and figure out how that works actually.

I really need some happy blinkie lights on the tops of the tallest structures too. 😀  Not to mention park benches, trees… people…

~ by starstation on January 23, 2012.

12 Responses to “The Nightlights…”

  1. Hey, that is pretty cool. I never realised how neat those old tos “lamp posts” were. Nice image, it’s really comig together! Looking foward to seeing those other ideas for the”streetlights”.:)

    Fog is a pain to get right. Have you fiddled around with the Blend with Sun and the Color perspective features? I believe I was able to acheive a fairly realistic volumetric fog by activating the Blend with sun feature and setting the 3 color perspection(rbg factors) something low like 5. It has been awhile though so I could have the numbers off a little. Just fiddle with them. (You probably know this already so apologies.

  2. This is really great!
    The image is again a nice mood.
    This tempts one to a romantic stroll.
    I can almost hear the crickets chirping.

    Chris

  3. Thanks guys.

  4. Road Warrior: When you mention the Blend with Sun feature, are you referring to rendering fog on the Bryce platform? Right now my fog problems are in Lightwave as my background and foreground objects are completely separate entities. I’ve only been using Bryce to deliver the skies and mountain ranges in these new colony images and I’ve been trying to create a low level fog or haze that would help to blend the two together more seamlessly (or deceptively 😉 ).

    Still, sounds like an interesting feature and I’ll have to look into it.

  5. Chris: Yeah, romantic mood is one of the interpretations I was going for, but I imagined something more along the lines of Aldebaran desert frogs croaking away myself. 😉

  6. Yes, I was referring to rendering for in Bryce 7. I am only a noob when it comes to Lightwave as I have just began to learn it..wish I could be of more help there.

    Quick question: Your starfield, is it created in Lightwave as well and composited into the bryce “night sky”? Just wondering as I have thought that clarity and number you have presented would be down-right impossible in bryce.

    • Actually the starfield was created a while back in Photoshop. I learned the method from several tutorials where you create noise on a black background, and then play with the contrast/brightness settings until all you have left over are little star speckles. 🙂 I really just needed a starfield for any and all generic space shots so I went with this technique. I haven’t been too happy with Bryce’s results for starfields so far, in the least. I wasn’t sure if I was do something wrong, but apparently not. 😀

      For this background I used Pixelmator (a nice inexpensive Mac substitute for my old PC’s Photoshop). I just layering the starfield over the Bryce landscape, which is actually free of most sky details in this case, and switched the layer’s blending mode to “screen.” I’m not entirely sure how this works, but essentially, the darker the pixel is, the more transparent it becomes. Being mostly black, the starfield image becomes mostly transparent, as all the darkest pixels vanish leaving behind only the non-black star pixels. I then erased all of the starfield image below the horizon where I didn’t want stars to be seen, using a feathered approach so they appeared dimmer the closer to the horizon one looked. This technique is how I did the ringed planet in the other images as well.

      Here’s an example of one of those tutorials. This one is a little more in depth and includes the creation of nebulae and such, but is very helpful.

      http://gallery.artofgregmartin.com/tuts_arts/making_a_star_field.html

      • Cool. Thanks for the info. Grey Martin,eh? I have been a fan of his for a long time now.:)

  7. Frogs croaking? I laugh out loud!
    Would it be possible for you to show a shuttle landed, in which a few people from Star fleet, get on or off? That would fit perfectly.

    Chris

    • I plan on putting a few auxiliary craft on the tarmac soon, but people will be harder to fake as I a don’t do full people yet.

  8. Er, Greg Martin I meant to say….

  9. Nice night time! where’s the bar and some green women!! O_O

Leave a Reply

 
