Delicious Space Plumbing

Greeble wall revealed in maintenance tunnel

Greeble wall revealed with the maintenance tunnel hatch open

This is only the second time I’ve rendered this angle with the maintenance tunnel hatch open, but I got more signage on that door the cargo passes through (ironically invisible here) and decided I would finally place some of those classic wall greebles from the movies inside the tunnel, just as I’ve always envisioned, along such an utterly utilitarian space.  The first segment past the door is filled with my reproduction of that greeble wall spotted so frequently throughout the first few films.

Here are just two examples of it from both Star Trek: The Motion Picture and Star Trek II: The Wrath of Khan, but rest assured it is sprinkled profusely throughout the first two films and even had some spots in the third and forth.  I’d call it “ubiquitous” if I hadn’t already bestowed that honor on another Trek set piece. 🙂  Maybe I’ll do a write up sometime on the Greeble Wall and its many appearances.

The airlock set from TMP and the Starfleet Academy starship simulator from TWOK.

Here are some examples of my reconstruction both in TMP and TWOK color tones.  It’s not a perfect recreation, but has come in handy in many interior projects thus far.

TMP toned greeble wall rendered to represent the airlock set.

A more TWOK toned version.  This is the color I used in the maintenance corridor on the McCook.

It’s pretty high in polygon count, so to go easy on the memory and give it some variation, the second segment is just a panel I plucked from my gangway model from Star Station India gangway.  I used other elements from it all around the bay.  There’s virtually nothing along the smooth exterior hull walls beyond those segments presently, but I hoped this would convey the very mechanical nature of this pathway as it serves its function.

I also added more greebles to the to bay itself on the large door lifter mount.  The lighting was a bit difficult given the dark color of the greeble components.  I wanted to brighten them up and help reveal them with at least some contrast, but I didn’t want to dilute the bright red lights I placed in there to convey the less than welcoming nature of the tunnel itself.

Door closed to maintenance tunnel.

The door signage is actually visible here with the door closed.

~ by starstation on July 12, 2012.

9 Responses to “Delicious Space Plumbing”

  1. is the “A more TWOK toned version” part of the transporter room corridor?

    • Well, that particular rendering was merely a test of several props I’d made for very specific yet different purposes. They were repurposed and organized to look “TWOK” like in appearance. At the time, the wall had just been completed (specifically for the airlock interior) and I wanted to begin making baseline props that could go into multiple interior models, in order to aid in the Starfleet design aesthetic. This was my first attempt to gather those elements, but it’s truly a “goes nowhere does nothing” render. 🙂

  2. Very nice, though I must admit to being a bit naiive……..looking at Akyazi from the outside, I wouldn’t think there to be much interior space for stuff like cargo etc.

    • Thanks! Well, I did take some liberties with the loading bay and the maintenance tunnel, but the original designer, Todd Guenther, also has corridors dedicated to cargo stowage running the outer rim of the saucer on both sides of the ship.  I reversed the location of some personnel quarters for life pods, and at the extreme edge of the saucer, I made a significantly smaller service operations area wider for better maintenance access and to allow the cargo to be loaded through that channel.  The cargo corridor is now just a little further inboard and can hold entire cargo pods.  I justified such a large loading bay by giving it extra modular options for mission specific duties when not in port. That might just be bureaucratic rationalizing though. 😉

  3. Is it possible that the intercom unit near at the exit, is mounted to low?

    • It might seem a little low until you consider that door is nearly 10 feet high, so that panel is about 4 – 4 1/2 feet off the deck. Those cargo pods are at least 7 feet high, and have to float at some height through those doors. I do a lot of eyeballing, so the panel might actually still be a tad low, but I was trying to place it at roughly elbow height, based on a screen cap of McCoy in TWOK saying “Sorry” from a turbolift. Sadly, I don’t have a great many items to help convey scale, but that intercom panel was meant to help in that area. I might need some retractable stairs or a ramp from the loading platform up to the raised deck to help as well. That is a pretty mean step-up there.

  4. I see. Now I understand it. the bulkhead is not high as a man. The scale I have not taken under consideration. So it makes sense as you explain it.

    Greetings from germany.

  5. .. ugh. .haven’t checked in for a month..!! sadly!
    Looking great sir! is there anything resembling proxy modeling in Lightwave? basically build a TWOK panel, save it out as a proxy, then a box would serve as a place holder, and then when you render out,, you get the panel instead of the box? thats how they get a billion blades of grass on a feild render.. might work if you have alot of panels on something like that!

    Looks great! hope the drought and storms end for ya soon!

    • Thanks!

      You know, I’ve heard of such, but I’ve yet to investigate it deeply. Tobian (of Endless Pluto Station fame) has mentioned something akin to that, but I don’t recall the details. It must have been right before I took a medium to long break and I just didn’t remember a thing about it after starting back up. I’ll have to look into it, because it could really come in handy with a few of my subjects.

Leave a Reply

 
