Upper Hooded Monitors & Hand Rails

Additions and accidental omissions…

Got some new rails in place, though a little short I think.

Rails fixed and upper science hood installed, but ooops…

I managed to focus on some lathed hand rails and their supports this weekend, and after I’d cranked those out, I decided to pounce on the upper monitor inset, and its hood.  Alas, I made a clumsy error (which I’m very good at) that forces me to present them as two separate images.

When I work on these elements in modeler, I place as few number of geometries as necessary in any single layer so that they aren’t too difficult to extract from one another should I need to do more intense adjustments.  Nitpicking at points and polys can get very tedious.  I modeled all the individual wedges of  “bridge pie” in their own layers.  Their overall shapes are identical and pretty much occupy the same space in their own layers.  This allows unique detailing to be applied to each section, and once modeling is completed they can be rotated around a central axis to become any one of twelve sections that make up the perimeter of the starship bridge.  In the images above however, I placed the three, main, visible wedges in a single layer for these test proceedings, all in order to save time and hassle in the Layout render program.  I still  have the individual layers where editing can continue, and with every update I copy them all and paste them into that single rendering layer.

Unfortunately, when I placed the overhead lights in those turbolift alcoves a few days back, it was a last second addition that I apparently installed on the versions already sharing the rendering layer.  After updating the latest science station with its upper monitor inset, I again copy and pasted the stand alone sections into that single layer after deleting the (presumed) outdated versions.  I set the layout for an overnight render, and imagine my delight when I got up this morning to check on my results, only to find that the alcove lights were completely missing in action.  At least the upper monitor inset is semi-visible, and luckily I have backups to correct this absent minded omission, but I simply didn’t have time to correct it before heading off to work this morning.

At least now, with this new upper monitor inset, I have all I need to complete 3 of the major seated side stations common on Starfleet bridges.  The communications and engineering stations are the most alike dimensionally, and I have some slightly narrower consoles specifically for them, but the basic wall elements will have to suffice for all three stations despite their distinct differences on set.  The weapons/defense and helm/navigation stations are special chores in and of themselves. 😉

~ by starstation on September 10, 2012.

2 Responses to “Upper Hooded Monitors & Hand Rails”

  1. Hello. your work is amazing. I did notice your console isn’t wide enough and the backer should be the same color as the doors. I love the refit bridge and am looking forward to seeing the entire room finished.

    • Thanks. Yeah, I know the console isn’t perfect to the movie set, but my intention is to create a single version to function in all of the three main seated perimeter stations. It’ll be more of an average of those three stations rather than the fully distinct versions from the films.

      It isn’t necessarily meant to recreate the Enterprise herself, but rather Starfleet’s movie era design style so I can make some possible variations for other ships, such as my McCook, or Kevin Riley’s Phobos.

      As for the doors and backers, I’ve yet to settle on any one color for either. The movie Enterprise certainly appears to have the same color for both details, but it is an unremarkable shade of grey that can be hugely affected by on set lighting and surface angles (and that baseline color even appears to change from film to film). This sometimes gives the illusion that the backing and doors are two slightly different colors, and the Reliant from The Wrath Of Khan didn’t bother with any such smoke and mirrors. With a rich blue door and dark grey backings, It simply had two different colors to help further simulate its distinctive setting. The Grissom from STIII and the Saratoga from STIV also had their own palette choices. With that in mind, I feel a little wiggle room, but the actual ship being portrayed will designate the eventual color.

Leave a Reply

 
