Engineering Station

Beginning to fill in those details.

Engineering lights up.

Finally got some new surfaces for the engineering panels completed.  I’m using a few viable older graphics too, and still have a few more new ones to finish up.  I fixed the hand rail supports, as they are supposed to flare out slightly near their platform attachments at the base.  I also installed that curved molding that runs along the base of the bridge’s entire outer wall, and began putting in the recessed areas of the overhangs which house the greebles and a few spotlights.  I put a turbolift label on the doors but I only had a limited number of colored versions and tried unsuccessfully to tweak the image settings in surface editor to make it match better.  It appears I will have to go into the original Photoshop document and just create a new version, trying to match the door colors as close as possible.  Speaking of door colors, I experimented with changing the station backing to the same color as the doors as suggested by a comment a few posts back.  I’m not sure I’m warming up to the change quite yet, as I think it is a little too dark now.  I might just have to brighten the color a bit for both features in order to reach a nice compromise.  Eventually adding in those few overhead lights might help as well.

Image

In studio set actuality, the real engineering station was slightly smaller than the science station as well as slightly offset to the right, but since I am using a single baseline structure, I had to enlarge the wall monitor panels a tad so they weren’t dwarfed by their hooded cowlings.  For all such paneled surfaces, I create baseline images from the reference plans (which are in black and white) and use screen caps to reference their colors and any other features or differences.  Those initial images are done with all the glowing features visible in a single layer of my image editor.  This is the main glow layer.  Text and labeling is typically done in its own layer.  This glow layer alone would give the overall appearance that the entire panel is fully lit.  In addition to this being erroneous (unless you were trying to overwhelm a temperamental psychokinetic teenager) this could make things look just a little over-the-top busy.  So, for this I use another single layer over the main glow layer to block or dim those blinkies I don’t want visible or to even intensify those I want to have more prominence.  I try to be as random as possible and I like to think I capture the lights in some chance state of blink and glow.  This engineering station does look a little busy here, as all the blocking has yet to be finished.  Finding a balance from the reference imagery is a little difficult as well, since this station was far less interesting in The Motion Picture than it was in The Wrath of Khan, due to a seemingly overt lack of blinkies and back lighting apparent in the first film, especially on the main console.

Doors and insets are still different colors here in this slightly earlier render.

~ by starstation on September 17, 2012.

One Response to “Engineering Station”

  1. Love it, although shouldn’t there be a set of sliding knobs beneath each of the red display to the right of the “fuel management” display?.

Leave a Reply

 
