DP Light Experiments

Plug-In Offers Promise

New DP Lights in play.

I followed some advice from a fellow modeler/renderer and downloaded some plug-in lights that would work with my version of Lightwave and I have to say, I am pretty impressed thus far.  Also I managed to add in some of the side consoles’ control panels and refined some of the UV graphics.The site belongs to Denis Pontonnier, and he’s actually posted quite a few useful plug-ins that I haven’t had an ounce of time to examine yet.  I haven’t had much time to work on things this week at all, but late this past weekend I was able to get some interesting renders with the additional lights he offers for Lightwave 3D 9.5 and up.  They are flood lights which are essentially the same as LW spotlights but with the ablility to project soft shadows even while raytracing.

An earlier, more conventional render and edit.

Here’s an earlier version (above) done with standard spots and shadow maps compiled with a separately rendered layer of global illumination.  In terms of mood and color, I tend to prefer this one, but it took a great deal of time longer to render and compile.   I think with some further tweaking of the individual light settings I can achieve something closer to this and still benefit from the new plug-in.  In this image I also tried to fake a little glowing cone of volumetric atmosphere pouring out of the two visible spotlights, but I don’t think it was as effective as I’d hoped.

~ by starstation on October 8, 2012.

2 Responses to “DP Light Experiments”

  1. good luck with the lighting…. lighting and textures have always been a bit perplexing to me… but I’m learning 🙂

    Keep up the good work !

  2. Thanks. Light and texture are STILL my Achilles heel, but that is just because I am more into the physicality of the modeling rather than presentation. Too often I’m burnt out on the modeling by the time I am capable of experimenting with presentation, and it suffers. I’ve been very busy the past two weeks so I don’t know when I’ll be able to get back to this in the near future.

Leave a Reply

 
