A Few Station Graphics

Newest stations yield fresh graphics as veteran station gets a refit

UV graphics for a number of auxiliary station instrument panels.

With my most recent stations in progress, I started work on a new UV map for a number of auxiliary bridge stations, all clustered on a single graphic image.  The stations represented are: those two in progress sections, gravity control and damage & repair, as well as environmental engineering (a bridge wedge I haven’t even begun to cut yet).  Again, I used images from the “Enterprise” Flight Manual for the best shape, proportion, and spatial orientation of all the individual elements, and then I combed through screen shots to get the best indicators of color, intensity, and lighting incidence.  These panel lights tended to be on, off, or in some state of blink; my images are just a single frozen moment, so it’s best to choose which lights you want glowing or things start looking a little too crazy Christmas.

There are a few unresolved graphic elements and quite a lot of space yet to fill, mainly from the gravity control and environmental engineering stations, but some of those I’ve already tackled in independent images.  The others I’ll try to squeeze in, if and where they’ll fit.

Just after posting about it last week, I discovered this weekend at Ex Astris Scientia (Observations in TNG: “Conspiracy”- about a quarter of the way down), that the strange graphic seen in the hooded enclave of gravity control is in fact a drawing by Rick Sternbach depicting none other than a gravity generator; more sound confirmation of that station’s final assignment.

Hooded monitor-Rick Sternbach’s fine work! 😀

I might try inserting some attempt to recreate this monitor’s visible shapes into the new UV graphic as a passable station diagram, though I suspect it might deserve its own dedicated file.  It will require me taking some liberties with my interpretation, but that’s life (and art, many would argue).  Labeling it will require some creative autonomy as well, since I have no idea what the the graphic’s text was manifest on the filming set.

Still, I got most of what I’d started done before getting sidetracked with the Thanksgiving holiday and an older image that seemed to beckon me when I looked to it for reference purposes…

Communications console overhaul.

That earlier image to derail my attentions was a graphic I’d previously attempted for the instrument panels of the communications console.  One of the first stations I ever attempted on any 3D bridge project,  I started it at approximately the same time I began the station’s overhead monitor/screen…

Version of overhead monitor

But unlike that feature, I never came close to finishing it; nor did I model any of the console’s interestingly shaped instrument panels which the graphics were intended to surface.  I took one look at it this weekend, and with some newly developed tricks I decided to do a rather potent overhaul of its many features (not all though) and add in a few missing elements and text.  I added a masking layer to darken parts of the bar graphs too, which I tend to set up as “full” for baseline purposes.  I also took some liberties with which buttons and indicators would be in play.  My biggest deviations from on screen evidence are the large blue rectangles to the far left (which is merely a base for an indicator grid I’ve yet to properly mask).  According to the limited screen images I’ve seen of those lit, they should be red and yellow, top and bottom respectively, both leaning toward a dim amber-like tint.  I think I simply chose blue when I originally started the graphic (they sort of match the blue grid lights on the far right of the overhead screen), and I still like it.  I could easily change the tint at any later date.

There’s still a little more to do on this graphic as well, but most of it is finally applicable and once I had begun the graphics, I was really compelled to tackle the 3D versions of the instrument panels for the entire console.  I actually got most of those done in hurried fit.  Unfortunately, busy weekend activities eventually ground everything to a halt and no renders were possible.

It’s hard at this stage, without background info from the “Enterprise” Flight Manual, to tell where the auxiliary stations’ graphics  interrelate, but at least the communications graphics are laid out (mostly) as its entry depicts.  If I’d thought about it more, I might have managed a screen cap or two of the consoles in modeler to give a better idea of where the individual graphics take up residence.  But now, I’ll just get the items in place and try to get some new renders in short order.  😀

~ by starstation on November 27, 2012.

2 Responses to “A Few Station Graphics”

  1. Where is the picture from of the hooded monitor…lightling says Star Trek 3 but I don’t remember seeing that view once…is this an inverted pic. BTW I love love love your work. the perfect attention to detail with great follow up …THANK YOU

    • No, thank you! 🙂 Glad you like details.

      I apologize for the delayed response, but I just returned from a vacation.

      If I understand your question correctly, the answer is fairly simple. The posted image above of the hooded graphic is indeed from Star Trek 3, and it’s not inverted; it’s simply not the entire screen shot. It’s just a small portion edited out of a full screen capture from the beautiful space docking sequence seen in that film. It can be seen when the camera is behind Admiral Kirk, seated and giving orders, while most of the bridge crew watches the giant Spacedock in the ship’s main viewer as Enterprise approaches ever closer.

Leave a Reply

 
