Open Hailing Frequencies

Communications gets a boost.

movie_bridge_030aCommunications station (post layer blending).

Finally I got the communications panels aligned and organized on a newly customized console. I’m very happy with this latest version, and it won’t need too many more adjustments for me to call it a game for this wedge of the bridge.

Currently waiting for a GI render of this angle so I can do some fun blend work (Edit: Blended! ๐Ÿ˜€ ).

After I examined my panel models in comparison to ever more screen shots, I realized that the reference diagrams I used for blocking purposes, while invaluable, were not perfectly accurate in regards to the final orientation of panels. A few of them actually required a touch of point drag along some corners and edges to update their overall dimensions. Even with all this wiggling I knew I was still going to have to completely remodel the base console.ย  It was simply too big, even in my attempt to shrink it and the engineering station from the much wider science station, which was the baseline model.ย  Turns out, the station itself required an 85% reduction in size of all the hood and monitor elements, and thus a complete remodel of the hood’s wall inset.ย  But when all was said and done everything seemed to fall into place.ย  Still not perfect, but currently well enough to satisfy my obsessive compulsive needs. ๐Ÿ˜‰

I’ve noticed a smoothing error on the wall just below the console, probably the result of some of my repair work during the hood resizing. It could be a point welding I missed, or the polygons might need to be tripled in that area if the adjustments mean they are no longer mathematically “perfect.” Those are 4 point polygons in that region, and polygons with more than 3 points tend to reveal flaws if they are not perfectly flat. I find out when I open it up in modeler again (Edit: Fixed it in Pixelmator before posting).

I might want to adjust the reflectivity on those oval buttons too, as it currently makes them appear as flat as the panels they inhabit, even though they are actually recessed features, fully modeled with chamfered (rounded or beveled) outer rims.

movie_bridge_030Original, non- GI render.ย  Warts and all.

~ by starstation on December 2, 2012.

4 Responses to “Open Hailing Frequencies”

  1. That’s a bit of work but it sure looks grand!:)

    What other areas of the McKook do you have planned?

    • Thanks bud!
      Nothing specific worked out in stone, but I would like to take a stab at a torpedo room (at the very least, the main one up front) I done most of the other areas I’m mostly interested in, and anything I do after the torpedo room will most likely be generic, applicable to any ship (officer/crew quarters and such). Probably wouldn’t hurt to make a bloody turbo lift eh? ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. great job

Leave a Reply

 
