Anyone For Aztec?

Breaking up some hull monotony.

ranger_refit_038eExperimenting with a little texturing.

Granted the model is far from complete, but I wanted to start sinking my teeth into a little bit of texture to get a feel for how things were going to eventually start appearing in earnest.  That, and I finally figured out how to take small sections of the hull and spread its mesh points across the UV grid, precisely assigning them to the map so that they line up more accurately than any of my previous mapping endeavors.  I’m actually quite pleased with the results so far, given that it is just 50% opacity on a patterned image in the color setting with a corresponding grayscale image (highly contrasted) serving in both the specular and glossiness settings.

ranger_refit_039Beginning with the underbelly.

I chose to use the Aztec maps that I created for my Akyazi class McCook (more maps I never technically finished), and I’m pleased that even if I decide to update the maps later, or change them completely, I was able to pin them down.  I began on the saucer’s underside and worked my way up to complete the entire rim, but I still have the whole dorsal hull to texture.  The inward facing pylon surfaces got a temporary treatment until I can actually create a specific map for them, and I wrapped the large sensor/deflector structures that hang below in a fairly simple pattern.  It’s a lot more difficult to make out though.  I also added some Starfleet pennants to the sensor structures, but they are actually stenciled into the mesh.  I still have much to do.

ranger_refit_041Ventral aft.

The underside aft reveals a touch more of the new greeble detail near the pylon connections, and the lighting angle shows off some of the Aztec more effectively, especially on those sensor structures below.

~ by starstation on June 3, 2013.

7 Responses to “Anyone For Aztec?”

  1. Looks really good to me.

  2. Looking great thus far.:)

    I don’t know how you do it..but you do it so well!

  3. Would it be possible to dedicate a page to the ground facilities of Star Base India? I keep having trouble finding the images here. No rush or anything.

  4. Thanks Basill.

Leave a Reply

 
