Aft Torpedos…

Fire!

Well… might wanna aim first, or maybe even finish building the launcher?

ranger_refit_052Aft torpedo launcher in its earliest stages.

Sitting in our favorite Mexican restaurant last night, I was thinking about the method I would employ to gain the best reference for cranking out a texture for the outer pylons.  As my brain churned that puzzle and my teeth churned chips and salsa, lo and behold, the wheels began spinning for how I would begin blocking out the shapes for the aft torpedo launcher, a task I had been truly avoiding for some time.

Well, needless to say, when I got home smelling like tacos, burritos, and sizzling fried fajitas, I pounced onto the computer and started blocking this object out, to begin the launcher’s career.

ranger_refit_051Only the outer casing and a minimal number of launcher elements within have been added.

Currently, only the outer casing has been fully shaped.  I was able to bring in a few of the bulkiest core elements from the forward launcher to take up their space in the enclosed section (hardly visible here however).  The other details will have to be more finely tuned.  I’ll be adding quite a few more elements of course.  The large cigar shaped sensor/deflector contraption on top should be relatively easy enough to model.  The casing’s lower aft edges will need to be curved outward to its base and a small trench will have to be carved in the saucer’s spine riser above the impulse engines, right along the launcher’s line of fire. That should prove gripping.

ranger_refit_054New pylon texture is in the works.

Oh…  and I took a couple of screen grabs of both the port and starboard pylons and was able to blend them together in Pixelmator.  I should be able to crank out that desired texture soon.

~ by starstation on June 13, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
