Impulse Engines Offline

Standby for shuttle retrieval.

ranger_refit_086aA new angle reveals a little unexpected shuttlebay protrusion.

Thought I would try a new render angle after making a few more subtle refinements.  I figured I would put the shuttle on an approach vector too, to liven things up.  I realize repeatedly using the same old angles gets a little tiresome, though I do like to look at my images in succession as a model progresses from its most primitive beginnings and evolves in detail.  New angles can certainly relieve the boring factor but too many cameras in a scene can get a little confusing.  I have something like 16 scattered around this scene now. 😀

As to the refinements, I settled on my pennant spotlight settings; angles, brightness, etc.  I also stenciled some round shapes into the forward ends of the warp nacelles, and basically extruded them into cylindrical recesses to act as source wells for the spotlights themselves. The running lights got a new lease on life too.

ranger_refit_085Refined surface settings for the running lights and added a physical source well for the pennant spotlights onto the nacelles.

After experimenting with a new and separate model of light fixtures, I was able to come up with some new filter settings for my running lights in order to get a more desired effect for the ribbed light covers.  The port and starboard lights look especially better now that I’ve learned how to get the glowing white bulbs within their respective red and green tinted covers to appear as those filtered hues.  For the longest time I simply assumed that assigning a color to a surface and then increasing that surface’s degree of transparency would do this in and of itself, but I now realize how wrong that assumption was. Up until now, I’ve only bothered to highlight the colored lights in post processing if I felt it necessary.  I’ll probably continue to agonize over these light covers a little longer however. Currently the ribbing is modeled into the shapes of the domed light covers themselves. But with the new experiment, I’ve learned I might be able to fake this entirely with surface settings. I don’t think it’s particularly canon, but I love how those Fresnel style light covers remind me of the plethora of signal lights used in various equipment employed by the transportation industry for well over a century now. From lighthouse beam lenses piercing dense coastal fog and railroad signal lamps informing train conductors of conditions well down the track, to the fixtures aboard ships and planes designed to determine right of way, I love how the little ridges enhance light to be seen at huge distances.

ranger_refit_083dShuttlebay gets deck markings.  Impulse engines at a safe cool temp for shuttle activity.

I thought I might run a render with completely deactivated impulse engines, since I’d hope they would dial those back when dealing with shuttle activity. I added some deck markings to the shuttlebay, though I have added little other details within. I did try to expand the bay’s interior towards the ship’s center, but I think I may have overdone it, as my new perspective at the top reveals that expanded decking broaching the exterior hull near the impulse deflection crystal housing. Yet another advantage to doing new angles is that you might see erroneous stuff you’d otherwise been allowed to ignore! 😀

ranger_refit_084c2Just another render of the classic angle with a few of the new refinements.

~ by starstation on July 15, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
