New Machine…

New angles and methods.

Phobos_VIP_23aViewing from a new angle while exploring new render methods.

I finally got Lightwave 9.6.1 installed on my new Mac Mini. Using a portion of my tax refund it was a low cost/low thought solution to the problems I was having on my previous Mac Mini, which served me very well for several years (and with only minor side tasks, requiring minimal processing power, may continue to do so for the foreseeable future). Once I was up and running though, I began to play around with some settings that I am told affect our renderings based upon the types of computers we work from and the monitors we employ to see it all. The method calls for adjusting Gamma settings for images used in UV surface mapping pre-render, and then adjusting the final render to an inverse setting Color me baffled, but I think I got a few decent results adjusting things to the settings advised. Nevertheless, I still think I am missing a big piece of the puzzle or just doing something wrong as I am getting some little grainy results in the darkest shadows that are brought into light by the gamma adjustment.  Strangely enough, the grainy thing doesn’t bother me so much as it adds an interesting touch.  Again it’s a love/hate kinda thing.  Some of the results are impressive, but I can’t help but think something’s been sacrificed, and I’m not sure if that’s just a simple by-product of the method or if I am totally screwing something up. Finally cleared out some dark blotchies though. That’s a real win. I’ll keep experimenting of course as I try to work out the kinks.

Phobos_VIP_24Older angle done with better settings. Hot spots are gone.

I’ve also started experimenting with cache rendering, but I think I am going to have to go back and review the tutorial I watched on it a few weeks back, as I am getting some unexpectedly mixed results and I wonder if I’ve overlooked something.

Phobos_VIP_22aAfter Gamma corrections, I upped the hue saturation by 2% to help enrich the tones a bit.

~ by starstation on April 16, 2014.

2 Responses to “New Machine…”

  1. It’s good that you are now able to use the new computer for your Lightwave work. I’m sure that’s running a lot more smoothly now. The old computer should definitely still be good for things like web surfing, playing some light games, (solitaire and things like that) etc. I don’t know how much of that stuff you do.

    The renders look great. You’ve lost me as far as render settings, but I try to keep mine fairly simple. I up the AA, set the render quality to its highest, and let her rip. 😉 I do a lot of the gamma correction, hue correction, etc. stuff in post. (byproduct of my old software, with the crappy render engine)

    I like that new angle render a lot. It looks like we’re sitting in one of the chairs on the side of the room. 🙂

    • Thanks! Yeah, to be honest the render settings have me a tad lost too, though I’ve learned quite a bit from tutorials and patient experts form afar. Ironically, having the new machine hasn’t allowed me to spend a great deal of time to put anything into practice, as it arrived at one of the busiest times of the year at my job. It’s like I can feel all the little tutorial nuggets leaking out of my brain daily.

      Good call on the new angle btw. The camera set up for it is indeed resting at sitter’s eye height in the outermost chair on that side. 😀

Leave a Reply

 
