Rings Demand Details

Adding some greebles and features to the exterior hull and docking ports

space_office_transp_rm_017bLatest image. Greeble beginnings.

Decided to do some detail work on the exterior hull and outer docking ports this weekend. I began adding some elements from the previous Office Station model, and also began crafting a few fresh yet simple greebles from scratch. I modeled the red markings around the docking collar as well.

It was funny that I got the scene loaded last night right before heading to bed, and decided to do a quick render from this outside perspective. I apparently hit “Render” and stepped away to do some final busy tasks before sleep. I didn’t realize at the time (I was tired enough apparently), I had only hit the Render Settings tab. When I came back a few minutes later to check progress, everything was exactly as I’d left it. Duh. I finally hit the “Render Frame” function and totally went into coma mode. I got up this morning realizing… I never changed the settings on the exterior lighting (which were temporarily at 0%). Luckily, the entire render only took about 2 minutes! 🙂

space_office_transp_rm_0171st image. Oops. Forgot to turn the star on…

With that kind of time frame, I managed to get a couple more renders in this morning at different settings and figured I’d post those WIP images here today.

space_office_transp_rm_017a2nd image. Let there be light… Duh

Lighting on the second image was pretty much a wash out, since my Global Illumination settings were set so drastically high for the interior renders.  Had to play around with the exposures in order to even make out any detail on the airlock’s hatch.  Cut back on the G.I. (top image) and upped the ambient light a tad to help get a slightly better reveal on the exterior.  Interior went crazy dark by comparison though.

I also built a cute little makeshift chair to place behind the transporter console; It’s visible through the view ports.  I don’t know much about the chair filmed in the actual movie scene, other than it was sitting up on a platform of sorts, had a fairly decent backrest height, and it had a cylindrical metallic stand holding up the entire seat.  There is not much visible through the window, but I chose to go with a slightly different stand for this chair.

~ by starstation on September 15, 2014.

2 Responses to “Rings Demand Details”

  1. The greebles look good. As for the red markings, I find it’s best to model stuff like that too, mostly because Lightwave’s mapping tools leave much to be desired. Plus, you get nice, crisp lines no matter how close you get, with none of the bleed you usually get from the red into the other color with textures.

    The chair looks good, from what I can see. It looks like a smaller version of the bridge chairs.

    • I agree about the mapping versus modeling. If I can model it, I go for it. There are of course times, when this is problematic: complex shapes with too many points or polygons, or a desire to use multiple labels for different versions and the like.

      I actually aimed a little toward the design of the bridge chair as I was throwing it together, albeit a smaller more compact version. It’s very basic though, with very little detailing: basically 3 rounded corner cubes with varying degrees of stretching and tapering to make the seat and back cushions. It’s actually more like my desk chair at work, with separate upper back and lower lumbar supports, but it sort of fans out in shape the higher it goes, much like those bridge chairs. 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
