A Tad More Detail

Greeble Sprinkles

space_office_transp_rm_018bNearly viable docking ports.

Got some more details in place. I’ve put in more lighting boxes and equipment detailing, such as the recessed EVA hand grips and emergency rescue levers. I managed to add quite a few more docking collar features as well. I’ve tried to make sure the features of this travel pod’s docking ring match up (mostly) to the docking collar details on the station’s ports. It may not be perfect, but what they do in their private time is their own business.

I shrank the grid pattern on the greeble panels’ UV bump maps a bit, to be more accurate to the miniature, but now it tends to look more like burlap at far enough distances. Currently everything is in “mirror mode” but I know I’ll have to put more variety in as I progress, since the greebles on the miniature were not nearly as symmetrically perfect as I have them here. I’ve simply chosen to focus on the most well photographed corner of the office module’s docking ports as I begin the detailing process. There are definitely variations from one greebled section to the next, and eventually I will have to improvise since I won’t have any reference material for some sections at all.

space_office_transp_rm_018aBump maps at their most “burlap”

~ by starstation on September 25, 2014.

4 Responses to “A Tad More Detail”

  1. Good to see you modeling again. Great job.:)

  2. Amazing work..

Leave a Reply

 
