Upholstery: Take Two

More subpatch seams and a few new wall panels.

tmp_oq_011aNew cushions finally “feel” right.

As much as I liked my early cushion efforts, I knew at the time they were only temporary fill ins. I attempted a new effort to refine the seam elements using Subpatch, but I was very disappointed with the render results. The seams were almost too refined, and were nearly invisible at a distance. That ended up making the angled upright backing look too firm, and even a little hard plastic. So, I decided to give it another go, and I’m much happier with these results, though the texture could use further refinement.

 

tmp_oq_004dDigging into some new wall panel detailing.

I also added some more wall panel detailing and changed the sleeping compartment’s floor texture, after noticing how different it was from the cove area in TMP* screen caps. Turns out, it was a fully exposed, semi-smooth, flat surface that allowed for a bit of shine and blurry reflectivity, which came to an abrupt halt at the cove’s border along the glass dividers’ track. The cove, on the other hand, had been laid down with that same type of rubber matting so prominently visible all over the rest of the ship.

*TWOK production design seems to have adopted a rusty red carpet as an overlay for the sleeping compartment’s floor. The cove was also resurfaced with new carpeting, which appears to match the carpeted panels of the curved walls perfectly.

 

tmp_oq_008bNeed a new take on the berth’s overhead lights.

I’ll probably be shortening the total height of the bunk’s shelf a tad in the next few days, and will probably refine the bunk’s overhead light as well, since it appears I might have overestimated the total area of lighting surface by misinterpreting some screen shot details. I’d based it on some nice shots of Kirk’s berth, where I’d assumed the lights where mostly turned off at the time. But after studying another valuable shot from within Ilia’s quarters (from the deleted and additional scenes), I got an entirely different perspective (literally) of the area from below. I’d originally assumed the underside was several large light diffusion grids (though of a strangely reddish hue), but it’s obvious to me now that there are only a few narrow strips (most likely 3) from which any overhead light is emitted, whereas the rest is possibly some sort of textured padding. I’ve even begun to wonder perhaps, how similar it might be to the greenish foam padding lining the walls of the turbolift set?

 

tmp_oq_009cCove’s curved walls might be a tad short.

After adding the new panel details to the cove’s inner divider wall (to the left), I began an attempt to better align the inset shapes with the curvature of its nearest concave neighbor. Turns out, the curved walls might not reach up as high as they should, and the support trusses might also hang a little low as a result. At the very least, the lowest part of the truss’s longest stretch should be above the divider wall’s upper door frame. I’ll have to do some wiggling around of certain features to see if I can correct any of these discrepancies.

 

tmp_oq_010b1st render with the newly improved cushions.

 

tmp_oq_007cAlmost nappy time.

 

tmp_oq_010Compartment dividers fully closed. First render with the “bad cushions.”

I went about testing the sliding dividers in a fully closed position. I realized that in TMP there is one apparently static pane of the tinted glass by the bunk/desk side of the divider. This makes that area is exceptionally dark when the dividers are fully open, but it’s necessary or the sliding pane on that side would have to be way too wide to function adequately. I have yet to incorporate this design feature into this model. There should also be some type of bumper along the exposed edges of the two dividers, where they meet after sliding together for closure.

 

tmp_oq_002dJust another angle with the bad cushions.

~ by starstation on October 7, 2015.

6 Responses to “Upholstery: Take Two”

  1. Well, what do ya know? I just started on the Quarters myself yesterday. Just blocking out the shapes so far. Ha! It’s proving to be quite a more complex area than I originally thought. Looking good so far, Basill!

    • Thanks Donny!

      Proving complex, eh? Aint that the truth?

      Got any good set plans or schematics? I’ve only got some Phase II floor plans (plus some major TNG refits), and I’m not sure at all how much changed between that initial false start and the eventual film.

      • Have you seen the schematics from the TUC redress of the cove? “If shoe fits, wear it?” scene?

        They’re small, but somewhat useful. I’ve had a hell of a time reconciling these with the Stage 9 plan and the Shane Johnson renditions, so good luck! I can say that I’ve found that from the floor to the top of the cove is 9 feet even. The doorway seems to a little smaller than the standard 3 feet as well (Shane Johnson’s schematic is way out of scale, btw).

        Anyway, here’s the links:
        stvi - crew quarters 1
        stvi - crew quarters 3
        stvi - crew quarters 4

        Btw, that flickr page is a treasure trove of blueprints, if you haven’t seen it before.

      • Let me clarify. I meant that the door that leads into the room via the corridor would be smaller than 3 foot wide, if the dimensions I’ve figured for the TUC schematics are correct.

        Also, would you mind sharing with me the Phase II and TNG floor plans you have? Are you referring to the Stage 9 floor plans of each show, or do you have others?

    • Oh, well that’s awesome! And it actually proves a point I was trying to make in my next post (though the effect is even more pronounced than I realized), that the curved walls opposite one another are not the mirror shapes I’d initially presumed them to be, but have very distinct slopes, and one even has a greater overhang. Was a little tepid about posting my thoughts without extreme proof, but there it is! Thanks! 😀

      Yeah that is a great site, but I haven’t been to check up on it in a while.

      • Yeah, they’re probably just the same stage 9 plans, from that page that documents their evolution over the years from movie to show to show…

Leave a Reply

 
