Underneath Ortho Fun

An ortho from below.

Just a little more fun with the orthographic views. This time, from below!

I threw this together the last time I was testing renders with the station. Lots of ships in place. Has a bit of a grainy texture since I spent some time trying to lighten up the image on my work computer (and putting in credits for the borrowed Federation starships).

~ by starstation on March 22, 2019.

3 Responses to “Underneath Ortho Fun”

  1. Is that Oberth model I see yours??

    • Oh, no. I started one a while back, but have yet to come close to finishing it. Just preliminary shape experiments. I have a Miranda I puttered out on too, that I’m far more motivated to complete.

      That Oberth was modeled by Eric Peterson. I put him in the credits in the bottom right corner with the others. I don’t even know if it’s accurate to scale, since there are so many interpretations as to its size. But I like to presume the flat connector area between the nacelles is at least some minimum single-level deck height (even if cramped), and based its scale to the standard docking ring it’s moored to. Over the years, I’ve seen at least one other modeler place a docking ring in that area in his version, and I guess I liked it so much it stuck. 🙂

      • Love the views, and I was tickled to see I’m not the only one with a fascination with the Oberth-class. I will point out an alternative manner in which to have it docked, if I may…there could be a special docking collar adapted to use the Oberth’s forward-facing hangar deck door as a crew ingress/egress when docked. Just my two microcredits. Well done, and I’m so happy you’re posting again!

Leave a comment